[Extreme newbie] Adding contributed actions

Nov 10, 2012 at 4:25 PM
Edited Nov 10, 2012 at 4:27 PM

Hi,

As the subject implies, I'm a newbie with NO, taking the first steps in my first NO-based project.

I'm trying to add a contributed action, for now just as a "proof of concept".  I'm afraid I can't get the action to appear in the UI.  The domain object I'm working with is Customer.

What I've done is:

• Created a new contributed actions class:

[DisplayName("Customers")]
public class CustomerContributedActions : AbstractService
{
    public Customer Create2(Customer context)
    {
        var customer = NewTransientInstance<Customer>();
        return customer;
    }
}
  • Registered the class in RunWeb.cs:
protected override IServicesInstaller ContributedActions 
{ get { return new ServicesInstaller(new CustomerContributedActions()); } }

AFAIK, that's all I had to do.  I might have missed the point with the context parameter in the action method.  Other than that, I'm clueless.

Any ideas?

Coordinator
Nov 10, 2012 at 6:10 PM

Newbie questions are fine!  So far as I can see you have done everything correctly for a contributed action, which should appear contributed to a Customer object i.e. on the Actions menu for a Customer instance (under a sub-menu "Customers").

But I am wondering if you really wanted to write a contributed action at all.  Your action creates a Customer, which would be an unusual thing to do from an existing Customer object (though not impossible).  I wonder if what you wanted to write was a regular service action, perhaps  -  to create a new customer from scratch?

If so, your method (Create2) should not take any parameters, and your service  (CustomerContributedActions  -  though you might want to rename it if this is the case) should be registered not in the ContributedActions property of RunWeb, but in the MenuServices.  That way your action will appear under a "Customers' menu on the main menu bar at the top of the screen.