Missing T4 Template

Jul 1, 2012 at 2:49 PM

Hi,

I'm new to Naked Objects MVC, and I'm developing my first app.

Following the manual, section 2.1.1 ("Create a new Model project"), in step 5 ("Add the Naked Objects custom T4 template, by invoking Add > New Item > Naked Objects > Default T 4 Template"), I can't find neither Naked Objects nor the template in the items.

What am I missing?

Thanks,

Ury

Coordinator
Jul 2, 2012 at 9:16 AM

First thing to check:  in the dialog  for Add > New Item  are you looking under the right programming language (i.e. C#) ?

Assuming you are, and the 'Naked Objects' heading is not showing...

When you installed the Nuget package NakedObjects.ProgrammingModel (step 2), it should have also installed the dependent package NakedObjects.Ide  -  which is what installed the .  So the first thing is to check (via the NuGet package manager) that the latter package is indeed installed.

If that package did install OK, but the Naked Objects items are not showing, then check (via Windows Explorer) the following location:

Documents\Visual Studio 2010\Templates\ItemTemplates\Visual C#

There should be a Naked Objects folder in there, containing several zipped templates.  

Let us know, either way.

Jul 2, 2012 at 10:11 AM

Thanks Richard,

Please see inline.

richardpawson wrote:

First thing to check:  in the dialog  for Add > New Item  are you looking under the right programming language (i.e. C#) ?

Yes.  I tried from both [project context menu] > Add > New Item... and [model designer context menu] > Add Code Generation Item.

Assuming you are, and the 'Naked Objects' heading is not showing...

Correct.

When you installed the Nuget package NakedObjects.ProgrammingModel (step 2), it should have also installed the dependent package NakedObjects.Ide  -  which is what installed the .  So the first thing is to check (via the NuGet package manager) that the latter package is indeed installed.

Both installed.