Integration with database PostgreSQL Open

May 6, 2013 at 2:13 PM
Thank you for your attention!

I have a project in NOF in health department of the city of Porto Velho - Rondonia Brazil. The project was started in version 5.4 and it works perfectly, but now I find myself in trouble.
The secretariat wishes to the second half of this year to change to an open database.

Currently use SQL Express with replication encoded into a master PostgreSQL.

But now I'm having trouble changing the persistence mechanism of NOF for PostgreSQL.

For any suggestions or would comb one walks to be followed to achieve this migration?

I'm grateful for the attention and the great tool developed by you.

Grateful.
Coordinator
May 6, 2013 at 7:44 PM
Glad to hear you have had a successful project already.

Naked Objects MVC should be able to work seamlessly with any database that has an Entity Framework (v4) provider. I have no personal experience of working with PostreSQL, but I came across the following blog posting from a Microsoft guy, which might be helpful:

http://brice-lambson.blogspot.co.uk/2012/10/entity-framework-on-postgresql.html

He suggests that the provider he was using couldn't do database generation, but, if I have understood you correctly, that should not be a problem as you have already scripted the database from SQL Express to PostgreSQL.

I suggest that the first step is to try a very simple example of accessing the database via this provider using a console application (i.e. not Naked Objects). Once that's working OK, try specifying that provider through Web.config, and running it with the Naked Objects app.

Richard

P.S. Do tell us more about your app - we're always on the look out for new case examples.
May 7, 2013 at 4:53 PM
Again I am grateful for the attention.

Following your suggestion, check that there are several issues of configuration and implementation that require care so that it works correctly and accurately.